Ricoh GR Black and White Series – Dubai

R0002866a
Ricoh GR, f/5.0, 1/125s, ISO 160, Aperture Priority

Since my purchase of the Ricoh GR camera in India in 2013, this has become my most carried camera. Along with the Nikon Coolpix A, The Ricoh GR is probably the only large sensor fully pocketable camera available till date. In fact, it was a tough decision for me back then to choose between the Nikon and the Ricoh. Being a avid Nikon user sine Film days, I am fully aware of Nikon dependability but ultimately the customisation options of the Ricoh GR prompted me to go for the Ricoh.

However I found out that the camera is nowhere to be found in India at that time while the Nikon Coolpix A was readily available. At that time I was also investigating a camera called Sigma DP2 Merrill (which I eventually bought) but was unable find any seller. I wrote to Smart Photography magazine enquiring about the availability of these two cameras in India and their technical editor Rohinton Mehta dropped me an email with the contact details of two persons for the respective cameras. I immediately called up this Ricoh guy in New Delhi but he informed me that they still did not have the Ricoh GR with them but they would try to bring a few units with their upcoming consignment of Pentax cameras. Finally after a month I went and collected the Ricoh Gr from their office in District Centre, Jasola.

I was told that I was the first purchaser of Ricoh GR in India and took a few photographs of me with the camera. They also gave a sudden discount on the agreed price of the camera.

R0002915a
Ricoh GR, f/3.2, 1/125s, ISO 560, Aperture Priority
R0002855b
Ricoh GR, f/4.5, 1/125s, ISO 1600, Aperture Priority

All of the images here are taken with the High-Contrast Jpeg mode but I had tweaked the setting by decreasing the contrast two steps. I save this setting in “My Setting 3” of the camera easily accessible at the top.I use the “My Setting 1” for RAW and “My setting 2” for medium sized Jpegs family photos.

I use the Snap Focus mode most of the time. I simply Change the Aperture according to the situation. I Set the Snap focus distance at 2.00 m. This way, at 5.6 Aperture, everything from about 1.4 m to near infinity will be in focus. You just have to press the shutter button full way in one press, that is all. A great tool for Street photography.

R0002868a
Ricoh GR, f/5.0, 1/125s, ISO 160, Aperture Priority
R0003043b
Ricoh GR, f/3.2, 1/60s, ISO 3200, Aperture Priority

There had been an upgrade to the camera recently with the introduction of Ricoh GR II with some improvements. But not enough to replace mine. You can not simply take better pictures just by buying new equipment but of course we all get excited by new products.

I leave you with this last image in this series taken in Abu Dhabi. This one is one of my favourite. So long. Please click on an image to view larger.

R0003205b
Ricoh GR, f/5.6, 1/640s, ISO 100, Aperture Priority
Leave a Reply

